ASABA/Nigeria:  The ruling Peoples Democratic Party in Delta State has won 22 out of the 25 local government councils where elections took place in the state on Saturday.

The Chairman of the Delta State Independent Electoral Commission, Mr. Mike Ogbodu, who supervised the declaration of results in Asaba, the state capital on Sunday evening, said there would be rerun election in two local governments where the exercise could not hold.

Ogbodu said elections could not hold in the two councils of Ughelli North where DSIEC office was set on fire by arms-wielding political thugs and Ethiope East as a result of widespread violence.

He said the election in the two councils would hold on Tuesday.

The DSIEC chairman however noted that the result for Ika South could not be declared due to the absence of the returning officer, whom he said was indisposed.

Ogbodu said PDP clinched 424 councillorship seats, while APC won in only ward 02 of Aniocha North Local Government Area.

“In accordance with Section 46(1) of DSIEC Law, 2017, 59 councillors of the PDP were returned unopposed,” he said.

He explained that the postponement for Ughelli North and Ethiope East was backed by Section 33 (1&2) of the DSIEC Law 2017.

Ogbodu added, “Result of the councillorship elections for Otor-Owhe Ward 01 of Isoko North Local Government Area is yet to be declared owing to an order of the High Court of Justice, Delta State, sitting at Ibusa.”

Breakdown of the results as announced by the Returning Officers include,

Aniocha North, PDP- 25,272; APC -2798

Aniocha South, PDP-26,943; APC-11,250

Bomadi, PDP-74,857; APC-1079

Burutu, PDP-83,897; APC 2,791

Ethiope West, PDP-46,377; APC-4,403

Ika North East, PDP-71,124; APC-2,838

Isoko North, PDP-78,952; APC-5,394

Isoko South, PDP-79,784; APC-4,372.

Ndokwa East, PDP-44,195; APC-126

Ndokwa West, PDP-67,092; APC-2,107

Okpe, PDP-67,525; APC-5,440

Oshimili North, PDP-47,306; APC-7,229

Oshimili South, PDP-46,183; APC-1,898

Patani, PDP-35,752; APC-277

Sapele, PDP-77,090; APC-4,533

Udu, PDP-62,668; APC-5,491

Ughelli South, PDP-46,941; APC-2,878

Ukwani, PDP-32,858; APC-5,611

Uvwie, PDP-103,308; APC-593

Warri North, PDP-48,074; APC-6,231

Warri South, PDP-92,564; APC-2,806

and Warri South West, PDP-107,973; APC-1,751.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here